APPLIED PHYSICS

List of Mandatory courses (the expected year/semester of completion is given in parentheses):

UFY/806 Literature review (1./2.)

UFY/800 Doctor's Thesis, Practical Part (every semester)

UFY/805 Doctoral methodological seminar (every year)

OJZ/940 TOEFL ITP for Doctoral Students - Examination (must precede the OJZ/950 course)*

OJZ/950 Doctor's English Examination (must be completed by the end of the standard period of study)*

FBI/801 Study stay I

minimum duration 1 month

FBI/802 Study stay II FBI/803 Study stay III (at any time during the study)

ر UFY/907 Conference Presentation -in foreign language (at any time during the study)

FBI/D1 State Doctoral Examination (the latest date, including any re-examination, is the standard study period plus one year)

Elective courses (at least three must be selected here, remove other courses):

Advanced plasma sources: properties and applications

Advanced simulations in many body physics

Applied thermodynamics of fluids

Charge transfer processes and their simulations

Computational physics – fluid modeling

Density functional theory (DFT) and its applications

Diagnostics of surfaces and materials

Finite element method

Laser physics

Nonlinear optics

On-line course

Physics of active surfaces and interfaces

Plasma in biomedicine and nanotechnology

Waves and oscillations in the solar corona

Additional courses (select courses recommended by the admission board or courses you want attend – not mandatory; remove other courses):

UFY/PFME Computational physics - computer modeling

UMB/575E Numerical mathematics II

UFY/OPME Optical measurements

UFY/PTE Plasma and vacuum technology UFY/PFAE Plasma astrophysics UFY/FPE Plasma physics UFY/KT2E Quantum theory II – light-matter interaction UFY/PZSE Signal processing and transmission UFY/FPLE Solid state physics UFY/SVEE Statistical evaluation of experimental data

UFY/TSFE Thermodynamics and statistical physics

* The exams are waived for students from the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, English-speaking Canada and South Africa.